Meal Planning Monday’s

As I mentioned in my Pregnancy update this week, I am trying to eat as healthy as possible! I think healthy means something different for everyone. For me it means mostly unprocessed foods, lots of fruits and vegetables and lean proteins. Here is what we got going on this week at my house!

Sunday: Chicken Parmesan 
My husband will have noodles and I will either eat Zoodles (Zuchinni noodles) or just have the chicken on a bed of greens.
I like to look up recipe ideas and then change the recipe to make it a bit healthier if possible. So for this recipe I will swap out the Panko crumbs for oat flour mixed with Italian seasoning. Since it’s only my husband and I eating, I will cut the recipe in half as well.

chicken parm

Monday: Meatloaf with a side of baked zuchinni and squash

I don’t typically need to follow a meatloaf recipe, because i have made it so many times. However, this week I figured I’d try the recipe linked because it has added Zucchini into it. My husband doesn’t eat zucchini so this is a good way to sneak it in. Also a good tip for toddlers! 😉 I will just use ketchup on top though.

Meatloaf1

Tuesday: Bratwurst’s & side salad

This one is pretty self-explanatory I think. I will just eat my brat without a bun, because they tend to upset my digestion.

Wednesday: Baked chicken and Baked Potato (Probably a side salad as well)

There are a ton of ways to season your baked chicken, but this recipe is pretty basic! For our baked potatoes, I just wrap them in foil and poke holes in them. Let them cook in the oven for an hour at 400 degrees Fahrenheit.

 

baked chicken

Thursday: Leftovers. This will probably be meatloaf or chicken breast and i’ll steam up a vegetable with it or have another side salad.

Friday: Nachos!

I plan to invite all of my husbands friends who just got back from deployment over for dinner! This nacho recipe is literally, So. Good. It feeds a lot, which is perfect for hungry men or even teenagers!

Ingredients:
1/2 onion

2 lb beef

3 cans of el pato tomato sauce

1 can diced tomatoes

1 can sliced olives

shredded cheese

tortilla chips

Optional: diced fresh tomatoes, chopped lettuce and sour cream

Recipe Method:

  1. Cut up 1/2 onion and brown it with 2 lb of beef in a skillet.
  2. Drain beef. (Not in sink, it will clog it.)
  3. Add three cans of el pato sauce, diced tomatoes and 1 can of refried beans. Heat until warm and combined.
  4. Have each guest construst their nachos on a pan or oven-safe plate. Tortilla chips, shredded cheese, meat mixture. Broil in the oven until cheese is melted and then pull out. Let them add their lettuce, sour cream, chopped tomatoes, olives if desired. Eat!

Winner every time!
I’d like to mention that while I try to eat as healthy as possible, it is totally OK to not eat perfectly all the time! I don’t call them “cheat meals” or “treat days” because I believe balance is key to a sustainable healthy lifestyle!
If you enjoyed this post please let me know and leave me a comment below!

Published by

Charity

I strive to live my life FREELY, without obsession, restriction and negative body image. To have balance in your life is much more difficult than if you're living strictly or flying by the seat of your pants.

Leave a Reply

